Having issues trying to add a library

Folks,

I’m trying to add a library to the IDE, I followed the indications how to do it, but no having a success. I tried a couple libraries: Timer, and TimerOne Neither one works, I keep getting an error about “WProgram.h: No such file or directory

Searching for WProgram.h Mr Googdle basically returns nothing :frowning:

By the way, I have three Photons, one of them has the latest 0.6.1-rc.2 firmware, and I am using this one to test adding the libraries.

I am new to Photon, the Photon IDE is new to me.

Help will be appreciated.

WProgram.h is the really old predecessor of Arduino.h which is Particle.h on these devices.

But when I last tried, building against 0.6.1-rc.2 this error message should not pop up anymore.
Otherwise, just remove that include.

Have you checked if you actually set 0.6.1-rc.2 as your target in Web IDE?

1 Like

Hi ScruffR, thank your for replying. Yes, I select the correct firmware in the Web IDE, I use either the 0.6.0 or 0.6.1-rc.2. Here is the thing, if I select 0.6.0, I get that error about WProgram, if I select 0.6.1-rc.2 then I get lots of verbiage. In either case, it wont compile.

What if you try to editing the library to remove the errors?

I edited the TimerOne.h file, I commented out the #include WProgram.h entry, basically the same result.

Here is what I get if I use the 0.6.1-rc.2 firmware:

Processing /workspace/triac-timer_one.ino
fatal: destination path ‘firmware’ already exists and is not an empty directory.
From https://github.com/spark/buildpack-base

• [new tag] 0.3.7 -> 0.3.7
    make -C …/modules/photon/user-part all
    make[1]: Entering directory '/firmware/modules/photon/user-part’
    make -C …/…/…/user
    make[2]: Entering directory '/firmware/user’
    Building cpp file: /workspace/TimerOne.cpp
    Invoking: ARM GCC CPP Compiler
    mkdir -p …/build/target/user/platform-6-m/workspace/