Has anyone looked at possible OS for Spark Core?

First, we all know I am not a programmer but, I think I can do anything :slight_smile: including building a OS enabled API solution for the Spark Core.

Of the flavors that support the Cortex M3 that may be a great canidates for the Spark Core are ('m sure there are more) "What is the best "?? to use ??

Chibios ? http://www.chibios.org

Coo Cox ? http://www.coocox.org/CoOS.htm

BeRTOS ? http://www.bertos.org/use

Any feedback is very much appreciated as I travel in to an area where I don’t really belong but, have the passion and time to learn; just need to know which one appears to be best for Spark Core and Community :slight_smile:

Thanks,

Bobby

spydrop, a port of NutX was done for the for the Maple Mini (which uses the same processor as the Spark) as discussed in this topic:

However, I am not sure david_s5 ever did the port to the actual Spark. Such a port essentially replaces the core firmware with the NutX RTOS so the Spark Team could not help you if you decide to go that way. :smile:

1 Like

@peekay123,

Thanks for the link. I’ll take a look and get back to

@peekay123 Nuttx was up and running on core hardware before the the core shipped.

1 Like

david_s5, I knew you had it running on the Maple Mini but not on the core! How much of the RAM/FLASH was left to the user? Did you share that code?

@david_s5,

First, Thank You very much for porting Nutiix to run on the Spark Core. I have already read some of your conversations with Gregg at his nuttix Yahoo Group (still need to read more).

Is there code on Github or a page that explains more of the process of compilining / installing Nuttix and flashing the Core ?

With the ability to run a RTOS on the core this puts the Spark Core out their next to RaspberryPI and ahead of Arduino which can not run an RTOS (from what I have read).

Is the ability to have an onboard Realtim OS available to Spark Core users is this not a big “News Worthy” Story ?