Getting webhook to post events to a URL

Noob here so bear with me.

I’m trying to wrap my head around webbooks and I’m not completely sure if it’s what I need for the things I’m trying to achieve.

What I want is for the data that is being published into the ‘events’ tab of my sandbox console to be sent to a URL. By this I mean that the data is being put at the end of the URL. I then have php and sql code that is basically fetching the values from the URL and sending them to a phpMyAdmin database. For example:

http://url.com/sample.php?sensorNum=1&turb=3&tds=5&time=64

I would want the webhook to be posting the data after the ‘?’

Do I have the right idea about what a webhook does? Does the integration actually send the data to the URL like I’m imagining? Is it possible to integrate the data with a phpMyAdmin database?

Yes, you can use webhooks for that - although with a simple HTTP target you could use HTTPClient just the same.
Webhooks are mainly used to request data from a remote server - particularly from HTTPS targets.

That is up to your target server to interpret the request and insert data into your DB.

That’s great, thank you so much.

Would it be easier to use the HTTPClient or webhooks?

Both ways are easy once you know how they work and getting to understand both is the best way forward.

Webhooks are probably more versatile and powerful, but HTTPClient is more focused with less overhead.

webhooks:
EDIT:

• your information is encrypted.

• your information is encrypted from the Particle device to the cloud, then from there it depends if your server supports HTTPS.

• your firmware does Particle.Publish(data) and the webhook takes care of sending the data.

• you need to create the webhook according to your needs.

• creating the webhook can get complex sometimes.

HTTPClient:

• your information is not encrypted.