fingerprint_fps_GT511C3

Hello Everyone,

I am only getting started with Particle and I am loving it! I am trying to use the fingerprint scanner (TTL GT511C1R). I can find the library when I search for it on the IDE (Dev). All examples, however, fail to compile. The error is always “compiler timed out or encountered an error.”

I tried other libraries and it all worked as charm. So I figured that the issue has to do with the FPS library. Any thoughts on how to fix it ?

Thank you

@alriabdu, the library looks like an older unsupported library (no github link). I assume you are referring to the “FINGERPRINT_FPS_GT511C3” library on the web IDE, correct? It would need to be updated to libraries v2 and reposted.

1 Like

@peekay123 … yes you are right. This is the library i am refering too (it should work with the C1R type as well). I want to use the sensor with my photon and it seems the only way to do so is to use this library. Is it possible for me to fix the library ? If so, would you please tell me how ? The problem that the error (compiler timed out …etc) doesn’t provide enough information on where the problem is and, thus, it is hard for me to debug the original code. I would appreciate any thoughts on this.

Thank you for your time.

Hi @peekay123, I use this “GT511C1R” Fingerprint Scanner since over 2 years now and all works well. I just want to point out an issue which may also affect others:

Now and then I am updating the fingerprints in my unit with the ‘enroll’ application.
Normally I use ParticleDev to reflash both applications, and that still works well.

Today, I wanted to try and use the Web IDE instead.
So, I pasted my application in and loaded the library “Fingerprint_FPS_GT511C3.h” instead of the “old” library “FPS_GT511C3.h” (Updated by @peekay123 on Oct 24, 2015) I am using (locally) with Particle Dev.

The application compiles OK.
However, after 15s blinking cyan, my Photon disconnects and starts blinking green.
Nothing works!