Finding, adding, and using libraries with Particle cli on Google Colab

Hi there …

I’m new to Particle, and this is my first post on the forum, so just hoping the style and substance of this note comport with local norms.

I’m trying to build some simple tutorials for a course that I teach remotely. I’ve using Jupyter notebooks on Google Colab extensively for teaching data and computationally oriented courses, and am trying a few experiments to see if it could work with Particle, too.

Here’s a proof of concept demonstrating Colab with Tinker: https://colab.research.google.com/drive/1i0wWU-7SnZ19a6OGQN5XnckWlNQDtPR2#scrollTo=ERsWOhNw5NPg

Here’s a proof of concept demonstrating Particle cli on Colab: https://colab.research.google.com/drive/1eybJfx2naCsVBOjTbzEu6GEK6cHu-h5I#scrollTo=ERsWOhNw5NPg

This third attempt is s where the trouble starts: https://colab.research.google.com/drive/1GK5Ogga8ts8vfS9493wmEAExFZ3I3N7u#scrollTo=TcUKDiWOsvt1

There are some issues:

1. The documentation for the Particle cli library says to use the “add” command to download and install a library. See: https://colab.research.google.com/drive/1GK5Ogga8ts8vfS9493wmEAExFZ3I3N7u#scrollTo=TcUKDiWOsvt1 This seemed to have no effect in the notebook above. But “view” command did download and install a library. Is the documentation correct?

2. Compiling results in an "Found unsafe content Found: #include “/” error. I could find no documentation on how to override this message. Any advice?

I’m new to Particle, so these are likely newb errors. Any help would be appreciated.

Jeff

Welcome to the community :+1:

For your first point, particle library add will only add a dependency entry to the project.properties file and the cloud build will then pull that referenced library in but the docs don’t tell otherwise either - no mention of downloading and installing the library AFAICT.