Example Code: Xenon collects temp/humidity data & sends to Argon which then outputs to 4-digit display and Particle Console

I am a programming novice but have been fascinated with Particle devices for the last couple years. When Particle announced they were creating Mesh devices I put in my order as soon as possible. I also ordered the Grove Starter Kit for Particle Mesh.

When my package arrived I was excited to get started. Unfortunately (or fortunately!) I found this wasn't a plug-and-play environment. I searched for example codes or tutorials on using the Starter Kit with Mesh devices and discovered nothing much was out there. And while there was good information available to make the various sensors in the Starter Kit work in a standalone environment...

(see: https://github.com/particle-iot/docs/blob/master/src/content/datasheets/accessories/mesh-accessories.md)

...I wasn't able to find anything that was of much help for people at my level of programming experience to collect sensor data from one Mesh device and then send it directly to another Mesh device for processing. This seems to me to be the essence of using Mesh!

I decided to see if I could figure how to:

1. Collect temperature and humidity data using the DHT11 sensor included in the Starter Kit connected to a Xenon, and then:
  2. Send the data to an Argon and have the Argon output the sensor data to the 4-digit display included in the Starter Kit as well as publish the data to the Particle Console.

I floundered around for awhile and was ready to give up when, through the help of @ScruffR and others on this forum, I was able to get everything working. To make things easier for those of you looking for examples to use when playing around with the Starter Kit, I figured it would make sense to post the code in this forum. Good luck and have fun!