Dropping the connection to spark cloud

I have connected up both my spark cores without any problem and managed to load the blink LED project. It all works fine. But after a period of time, exact time not sure yet but approx. 30mins. the project stops running and the Cyan LED is flashing. Again not sure if it is just;
• Flashing cyan: Connecting to Spark Cloud
or
• High-speed flashing cyan: Spark Cloud handshake

If I reset the Spark Core it goes through the reset very quickly and connects back up to;
Breathing cyan: Connected to Spark Cloud

and the project immediately starts running.

My questions are;
Is anybody else having this issue?
Why does the project stop running once it looses the spark cloud connection?
this project is a simple LED blink project which is stored on the Core and does not require any interaction with the cloud.
Hoping I can get some assistance with this.
p.s. I am totally new to this type of programming, so it may well be operator error.

1 Like

Hi @Infinnissy - you’re correct that your application code doesn’t run while the Core is connecting. That’s because the code for opening a TCP socket with the CC3000 Wi-Fi module blocks.

We are working on methods to get around this so your application code will run smoothly and not be interrupted by connectivity issues, but it’s a non-trivial fix.

3 Likes

Hi @zach. Is there a good reason why it keeps dropping the Spark cloud connection?
i.e.
• Flashing cyan: Connecting to Spark Cloud
The only way I can get the code running again is to press the reset and then it connects to Spark cloud again fairly quickly.
Have tried powering off a laptop through USB lead and also using separate USB PSU.
The problem occurs on both cores and at different times. i.e. one core is connected while the other disconnects from Spark Cloud.

Hi @Infinnissy,