DC bidirectional motor control timer relay

Ok, So I am a NOOB here, and I have done a bit of searching which has led me to asking my question about controlling multiple 24vdc 4 amp motors. I need a timer Relay set up. It has to be bi-directional control of motors (which will be accomplished via the relays). So I saw there is a 4 relay board for the Particle/Photon however I have seen the Arduino has a 8 channel or 8 relay board out there. Is there a way to adapt the arduino 8 channel relay board ( http://www.ebay.com/itm/360717697832?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT ) to the particle? or http://www.ebay.com/itm/121746553373?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

I need a motor to turn on for 40 seconds in cw direction, then 12 hours later turn ccw for 40 seconds, and this must be repeated daily.

Any help and or guide in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Hmmm… What you would do is to use 2 relay:

NO1 -----> +24Vdc

COM1 ---> one side of the motor

NC1  -----> GND

NO2 -----> +24Vdc

COM2 ---> other side of the motor

NC2  -----> GND

You simply toggle ONE of the TWO relay to run the motor and one would drive it clockwise and another would drive it anti-clockwise.

1 Like

Have you seen
https://www.controleverything.com

They have tons of relay boards for the Photon :wink: Not cheap but cool :sunglasses:

But sure, you can use the Arduino board, just have to pay attention to the Vcc supply for the board.
The opto-isolated control lines can directly be connected to the Photon pins.
I think you just might have to remember that the relays are controlled active-low (reversed logic).

1 Like

Thank you for the response. I appreciate the clarity on the motor connections to the relay board. I am more so wondering about the actual boards that are available for the Particle. Specifically the arduino relay circuit boards. they are cheap and easy to get. The ones for the Particle not so much.