Connecting a Sparkfun SX1509 Breakout board?

Hey guys,
Trying to get two Sparkfun SX1509 breakout boards connected to a Photon via I2C, to be used as 32 digital inputs. This is my first time using I2C, and I’m therefore a little “noobish” in that department. :wink: I’m using the Atom/Particle Dev.

Here’s what I’ve got so far:

I’ve got the address jumpers configured, so that ExpanderA is 0x3E, and ExpanderB is 0x3F.

SDA is connected to Particle DO
SCK is connected to Particle D1

I’ve put Wire.begin(); inside of void setup()

So I guess my questions are:

1. What files/libraries do I need to include?
  2. How do I include said libraries using the Atom/Particle Dev (not the web version)?
  3. There is an SX1509 Arduino library, but I’m not sure how to include it?

That should be enough questions for the kickoff post. @peekay123 @ScruffR You guys up for this most-likely simple explanation? :wink:

Thanks so much for any advice!
J-

Only the (ported) SX1509 library is required, since Wire.h is already part of the Particle frame work.
You can download that from GitHub when you click on the GitHub icon next to the library name (once selected) or directly there
https://github.com/JohnVidler/SparkFun_SX1509_Arduino_Library

You copy the library files alongside your main project file and include the .h file(s) like #include "someFile.h"

See 2.

Great, thanks @ScruffR! Looks like the library files are ported, but the example code files are still Arduino. I’m thereby assuming I just change:

#include <SparkFunSX1509.h>

to

#include "SparkFunSX1509.h"

And remove any instance of:

#include <Wire.h>

I’m now having issues with my Photon breathing green, which I believe means it’s connected to wifi but not to the cloud? Could this be related to the code in any way? It was doing this last night, so I started flashing simple “Blink” code to it and it seemed to stay connected (breathing cyan). Was I just dreaming up this connection, or could there be something there?

Thanks-