Can Argon operate as a controller like Photon?

Hi guys and gals, I am very new to electronics. I want to build a level sensing device and saw one that was built with a Photon. When I went to purchase a Photon kit the Particle website suggested I get an Argon. I have placed an order.

Can you confirm that it has the same functionality that I am seeking as the Photon?

Thanks!

1 Like

Welcome!
For my use cases and experience, they operate the same way except the Argon has more functionality (Wifi and Bluetooth) so I don’t think you should have an issue. Overall I’m really happy with the Argon so I hope you will be too.

There are a couple differences in pins, and I have occasionally encountered some timing issues that causes minor differences in the libraries for Argon vs. Photon (I’m sure others could offer more technical details if you are interested).

Have fun!

1 Like

Thanks rob7!

I’ve been able to swap code back and forth to both. The argon had some issues with libraries but that was cleared up eventually on data timing frequency I believe. Looks like your project idea will go smoothly. The argon has more pins than photon.

1 Like

Thanks so much! It is great to have such good support!

Hi @Motley -

Welcome to Particle products and the forum, I am sure you will be extremely happy with your purchase. I relate to what @rob7 said, for most use cases they are very similar, with the benefit of added functionality on the Argon. Or to put it simple, I have not come across anything possible on Photon that cannot be achieved using Argon, and then some :slight_smile:

I basically use Photon when;

• Smaller footprint is required
  • Price sensitivity

If these two aren’t requirements, I use Argon or Boron (Boron when Cellular is required). Of course the other benefit of Argon (3rd gen devices) used to be the Mesh capabilities, but this has recently been deprecated.

Hope this helps, good luck and keep building stuff!!

Regards, Friedl.

Hi Friedl,