BLE Peripheral : Cycle Speed & Cadence Sensor

Continuing the discussion from Implement BleAdvertisingDataType:

@ielec - do you have any advice or pointers as to where to start for the following project idea;

I’d like to emulate a Cycle Speed and Cadence Sensor using an Argon. Essentially the Argon would count the passes of a magnet on the wheel and crank. This could then be advertised, with the suitable uuIDs and connected to my phone (which would think it is a Speed / Cadence sensor).

I’ve had some experience with BLE Central mode (and help from @ScruffR) and these are now working well (uploading data from BLE sensor boards). Delightful. However when it comes to Peripheral mode I’m a bit stumped. I’ve made some initial progress, through vast reading (including this) from a number of sources, however am not getting data out. See code link.

I see the device coming up, and advertising as a peripheral, so that part is working, I just cannot get it to send data through on a regular basis. I realise the data is perhaps required to be sent together (both speed and cadence).

The maths behind the speed calculation leave to me, I suppose I’d just like to see something (data, even if constant) come up on nRFToolbox (under the CSC icon). See screenshot below.

Hi @neal_tommy,

Sorry for the delayed response. Without modifying your application linked above, the nRFToolbox cannot find the Argon acting as a Cycling Sensor, because the advertising data doesn’t contain the Cycling service UUID. It does contains before calling updateAdvertisingData(false); in setup(), but the advertising data is overridden by updateAdvertisingData(), since you construct a brand new advertising data object. You should get the current advertising data and then append the custom data in this function.