Basic advise: smart bulb

Hi there, I realise this is a pretty generic question but I’m completely at a loss here. I’m a pretty decent programmer but I’m so lost on this whole IoT thing. Here is my situation:

I want to install a smart bulb in my bedroom ceiling and make a physical dimmer switch (some slider or something). I don’t want to bother with cables so it has to be wireless. Also I’d like to be able to control it via my Android phone.

My question is, how would I start? I have a Photon and a Core, and I’d love to be able to use one of those. Which smart bulb would work? I don’t need one with different colours, but it would be nice to set the warmth of the colour (via an app or something). When the light intensity is set via the phone app, the physical slider of course doesn’t correspond to the light anymore but that’s no big deal, I’d like it to only update the light after moving the slider.

I’d appreciate suggestions that don’t break the bank. I already went and purchased some 10 USD smart bulb off e-bay that uses the Tuya Smart Life app but I couldn’t figure out how to send signals to it. Oh and I also don’t want to be locked in some Amazon or Google web service or something, I’d like it to work on my local wifi.

Thanks so much in advance!

Hi there thanks for your response!

The thing is, the light armature is on the ceiling and I’d like to have the dimmer more within arms length. So what I think I’m after is a wifi smart bulb that I can hang from the ceiling and control via the Particle device. Maybe something like this https://blog.christophermullins.com/2017/02/11/milight-wifi-gateway-emulator-on-an-esp8266/ but this is for an ESP8266

What do you think about an relay to control your lamp-circuit?

I know yeelight makes some nice RGBW bulbs that have an open (local) API you might be able to use. Haven’t tried controlling them locally just yet, but might be worthwhile playing with. If nothing else, they’re nice bulbs regardless.

1 Like