Add Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) to Spark Core

Hello I am really new in hardware development and I would like to know if it possible to add bluetooth low energy to the spark core. Do I need to buy a Shield Shield in order to transform the spark core in arduino? Or can I do this directly?

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

You can definitely interface a bluetooth module with the :spark: Core. Any module with an I2C, SPI or UART interface (operating at 3.3V can be directly connected) The shield shield makes it easy to interface already existing bluetooth shields made for arduino (that operate at 5V).

For example:

Something like this: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/10253 can be directly interfaced (untested)

Something like this: http://www.seeedstudio.com/depot/Bluetooth-Shield-p-866.html will require a Shield Shield

Hope this helps.

1 Like

Hi,
is there demand for a miniaturized version of the BLE-Shield or an even bigger BLEbee which is pin compatible with the Spark Core, it would be worth thinking to create such a thing. Not a big deal.

Any futher feature demands for such a BLE board?

Cheers,
Michael.

2 Likes

I guess obvious use would be as a gateway BLE<–> internet.
Such a power consumption mismatch though. Could BLE power up the Spark Core as required? Not too practical I guess.
Hmmm, how else could the two technologies compliment each other? iBeacon/ANCS? iBeacon, Hmmmm!

Also Dr. Michael, a “feature demand” might be for you to get “type acceptance” from MFi for iBeacon usage of any hardware under the new rules (as of yesterday). It’s free I think. :-} But probably impossible.

First of it thanks for the quick answers of all of you.
I am really new in hardware development. And I am trying to understand how it work.
My goal is to produce an hardware based on the spark core that can connect with smarthphones using BLE.

@mkroll Is the BLEbee can be directly using with the Spark Core?