Xxx does not name a type error / .ino vs .cpp / a first project

n00b to Particle and while I’ve had some limited experience with development in general, safe to same it’s been more tweaking other examples that learning things from the ground up.

I’m working on a webhook & app to light up LEDs in my Photon based on bus arrival data from the Transport for London (tfl) API. I’m basing the project on @LukeUSMC’s awesome example here: Tutorial: Webhooks and Responses with Parsing (JSON, Mustache, Tokens)

I’ve got the webhook running (not elegant, but that’s another story) and now trying to build out the rest of the application for my needs.

I’m running into an issue very early on - this not uncommon ‘xxx does not name a type’ error. I’ve seen a few people solving it via #include “application.h” - but doesn’t do the trick for me. So, my current setup:

A single .ino file (at the end of the thread if interested), where I’m defining the hook and response, the subscribe and publish and eventually what the LEDs should do based on the response.

However I get stuck why trying to verify the code very early on. A few thoughts:

• Could be an issue with needing to have .ino and .cpp file split (the error messages have my .ino file name shown as .cpp, so don’t fully understand that).
  • Could be a simple issue with my code
  • Could be some other obvious error (misplacement of things in the setup {} vs loop{} etc.

The error (as well as a second one, but I’ll deal with that later unless you want to chime in)

The lines of my code ending in the line throwing the error:

#define HOOK_RESP   "hook-response/tfl274_hook_3"
#define HOOK_PUB    "tfl274_hook_3"

int led_red = D1; 
int led_default = D7;
int busGood;
int badBusCall;
int updatebusminute;

//This will call the function gotBusArrivalData when the particle.io cloud posts a hook response that matches my HOOK_RESP in my definitions.
Particle.subscribe(HOOK_RESP, gotBusArrivalData, MY_DEVICES);