Working with the Sparkfun Photon IMU Shield

Anyone have experience working with the Sparkfun Photon IMU Shield?

I’m having issues with the library for the IMU and there’s very little/nothing on this on the Internet. I’m doing a Master’s project and this hardware part of the project is the most frustrating since I can’t even get a simple reading from the IMU using the sample code (it just ends up sending my Photon into an endless breathing green state). Maybe I’m just missing something basic, but there doesn’t seem to be anywhere to bounce ideas on this. I would love to create an informal discussion that could serve as a guide for first-timers using the Photon and IMU Shield.

Did you look at their product page for resources? https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/photon-imu-shield-hookup-guide?_ga=1.207958993.213298261.1438358873#introduction

Are you seeing anything via the Serial port?

Yeah, I checked out al of those resources and followed that hookup guide. I just started seeing stuff come back on the Serial Port (I have a Mac with OS X El Captain - so I decided to switch over to a Windows 7 Desktop).

When I run the sample code, it fails in the setup function. The imu.begin() comes back false and I see the message come back on Serial (“Failed to communicate with LSM9DS1. Double Check Wiring. Default settings will work for out of the box LSM9DS1.”). I bought the photon with shield and IMU with shield so all I did was plug them in together like legos. They are being powered by a USB. Is there something I’m missing? I’m using the I2C example and haven’t modified by IMU since taking it out of the box.

Could my IMU by faulty?

Did you attach the Photon in the correct direction?

1 Like

Yep - just matched up the pin names with the Photon and the IMU.

I explored my issue a little further and found out that the firmware is failing inside the begin() function in the library.

I added a couple of Serial.println() statements to help debug and here’s what I found.