Why 3.3V and not 5V?

I was wondering why 3.3v max input was decide on when so many sensors are 5 volt. I don’t know much about 3.3 vs 5 volt, the one thing I constantly keep running into is having to divide voltages down to make it 3.3 which just makes everything messy.

Coming from an arduino (5v) and not having to mess with dividers just to get a simple sensors to work, to having it become a huge pain/mess of resistors just to get sensors to work is rather annoying. There is probably a simple explanation for it, again I’m a noob in that area.

I love the photon and electron but honestly hate this part about them.

Again, admittedly I no nothing really about 3.3 vs 5. I’m happy to learn though.

TLDR: why are the input max voltage on the photon and electron so low (3.3V) when majority of sensors are 5volt.

Because the chip can handle only 3.3V. The sensors are kinda ‘old’. With things becoming more reliant on battery power, or power efficiency in general, lowering the voltage is a good way to save on power.
I also think it allows the chip to run cooler (but that might be complete non-sense, 'twas I while ago I think I heard that).

There are an increasingly large number of sensors that work on 3.3V just fine, so that shouldn’t really be an issue. Voltage deviders aren’t too hard either, and there’s dedicated hardware for level shifting available as well, if you really don’t want to spend effort on it.

Just so you know, voltages can go even lower, as some computer chips run under 1.5V already (if I’m not mistaken).

thanks for the feedback. Almost all analog, well priced sensors i find are 5 volt output, split core sensors, pressure sensors, thermistors etc. I just find that having to keep using stuff to drop the voltage makes my projects messy.

I see that my question may not be worded perfectly. I’m not talking about powering the sensor, just reading the sensor output voltage which is generally 0-5 volts.