Webhook & variable usage

Dear All,
first of all, I’m new to webhooks and not really good with it ;-(
I figured out how to get a GET webhook working. it is fetching to values from a DB via a PHP file and a JSON output
The webhook/webpage returns for example { "kCount_overall": 9586.080, "ReportCounter": 89 }
First of all I would like to use the ReportCounter value it should show my where logging stopped last time…

I defined the variable at the beginning of my code:
unsigned long ReportCounter = 1;

Then I created a function:

long ReportCounter_startup(const char *event, const char *data) {
  unsigned long ReportCounter = atof(data);
  return ReportCounter;
}

That really gets the value “89” :wink: (Tested with a publish in that function)

During void setup() I subscribe to the hook-response’s and then publish something to fire the webhook.
I can see at the dashboard the hook is working…

In my void loop() I would like to use that value to increment it evereytime something is writen back to db… but it never comes there… always starting with “1”

What did I forget…?
Thanks for your help in advance

Could you show us your entire code? Hard to debug something we can’t see :wink:

Actually… it seems as though you’re creating a new local variable inside your subscription handler, which has the same name as the global variable. Due to scoping, only the local one is being used, thus it never ‘leaves’ the handler.

Add to that the fact that your are mixing types: long, unsigned long and float which is what atof() returns!

2 Likes

I guess you don’t use this function as a subscribe handler direct either, do you?

Thanks to Moors & peekay123 I learned again much about variables in c++ and can now see that I redeclared the ReportCounter variable within the function local.... THANK YOU!

I changed the function to:

unsigned long ReportCounter_startup(const char *event, const char *data) {
  char * succ;
  ReportCounter = strtoul(data, &succ, 0);   
  return ReportCounter;
}