Turning Webhook Data into Variable

Hi everyone! I’m pretty new to Particle and C++ in general, but I just can’t seem to figure this out. I’m a little dense, so forgive me, but I’ve tried every tutorial I can find and can’t figure this out. My hook works, and when I check the console I can see that the hook response returns with the data I need, but I can’t for the life of me figure out how to take the response data and turn it into a variable. I’m trying to make a display that shows how long it is until the next bus arrives using the API provided by the city. Here’s my code:

int bus;
void setup() {
  // Subscribe to the integration response event
  Particle.subscribe("hook-response/bustime", busResponse, MY_DEVICES);
}

void loop() {
  // Trigger the integration
  Particle.publish("bustime");
  // Wait 10 seconds
  delay(10000);
}

void busResponse(const char *event, const char *data) {
    //I've only been able to try stuff from tutorials here but to no avail
}

The Webhook definitely works, and I’m getting the response I need (It’s only one number). I would, in theory, make the variable bus equivalent to the time until the next bus arrives. I just can’t wrap my head around how to take the data from the hook response, and nothing I’ve tried has worked so far. At least from what I’ve seen. Maybe my testing methods are flawed. Thanks for the help, and sorry for the stupid question!

1 Like

@dpriester2, the const char *data part of your subscription callback is a pointer to the ASCII data returned by the webhook. You just need to convert it to a suitable format, which I assume is an integer. Here is an example:

// This is a global variable
int bus_time;

//I've only been able to try stuff from tutorials here but to no avail
    bus_time = atoi(data);
}

The atoi() function converts the ASCII text representing the number into an integer value. Take a look here: http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/cstdlib/atoi/