Understanding development process?

Hello I’m new to particle and I’m having trouble understanding the process to develop firmware for the electron and the photon. Note: This is all about the software side not the hardware part.

I understand that I will write my code in the Web IDE what I don’t understand is how will my end users get the info from the unit to their phone(app created by us). Do I need to create a back end with user authentication and database or does particle provide a simpler way that I’m missing.

Note: I’m not new to software development

Thank you for any help in advance :grinning:

@Jean-Pierre, have you looked at this?

https://docs.particle.io/guide/how-to-build-a-product/intro/

:smile:

Thank for the reply and Yeah I have but it’s mainly for the physical part not software. I was actually looking at this

https://docs.particle.io/guide/how-to-build-a-product/authentication/

But how do I test the units without paying for the “organization” do I develop with my Electron like it is my end product or are there other steps I have to consider. how do I create simple authentication without paying the organization fee I’m not sure if I’m clear enough :grin:

Hi Jean-Pierre,

I am also very new to Particle and have experienced the same frustration with finding the right documentation to lead me into building the software side of a product. Although the hardware side is more user friendly, the software side is like finding a needle in a hay stack.

I was able to get a few software features to work (e.g. getting an email from a Photon web-hook via Amazon Web Service SNS). I tried the iOS Tinker to connect my Photon to WiFi but I am unable to understand how the Tinker code works and with limited documentation its even harder.