Two Argons stuck in safe mode trying to use LIS3DH 3_I2C library

I am new to the particleio components and just starting to experiment with them.

-I am trying to use the 3_I2C.ino example (part of the library included in the Particle Web IDE) to hook a LIS3DH to an Argon.
-The modification I made to the 3_I2C.ino example was to change the variable ‘wire1’ to ‘wire’ (since the example didn’t seem to be working).
-After flashing the Argon, it went into a mode where the status LED is both red and blue in a breathing (I beleive this is safe mode)
-After various attempts to get it out of safe mode by pressing and hold the mode button and rest in various combinations failled, I begin to wonder it the device was damaged and tried it on a second Argon.
-Now I have two Argons stuck in safe mode.

Any suggestion, help, adivce appreciated (please keep in mind I am new to using the Particle IO devices and thus likely missing something obvious).

Thanks.

UPDATE: Interestingly, when I was in safe mode (due to the code), I could not flash, connect or anything else. However, when I purposefully went into safe mode (by holding the mode and Reset together, then releasing the Reset), for the part that was already showing it was in safe mode, then I was able to use the Web IDE to flash the blink example code over my bad code and all is now good (no more safe mode).
Unfortunately, using the same approach on the second Argon, gets it to come out of safe mode for a few seconds, then right back into safe mode. I suspect a more serious issue with this particular Argon since the voltage regulator on this part does not charge the LiPo battery.

Could you post your modified code here and which device OS you are using?
It could be that there is a software update going on. Have both Argons been setup and connected to the Particle Cloud (breathing cyan) at any stage.

1 Like