Tutorial for a simple web app

Hi everyone

I’ve been working on a web app for my product and a few have been asking for example code etc. so I thought I’d put up a quick tutorial on what I’ve done. I’ll mainly focus on the parts that I had difficulty with, otherwise it will be a novel! I just want to say however that I’m a hardware engineer, not a web developer so please don’t take any of this as gospel, it’s just what’s worked for me and it may not now, or in the future be recommended practise! Also the majority of this is work is adapted from awesome people like @bko, @mebrunet and many others, I’m mainly compiling it here for convenience.

The following is for a web app using ‘simple authentication’ and it’s usage of part cloud API and part JS SDK is because the JS SDK doesn’t currently offer all the features required of a full web app.

Part 1 - Creating a OAuth client ID

A client ID is used in this case for creating new customers for your organisation
Please read this first Authentication & Security

Creating your client ID only needs to be done once per app, make sure you have CURL installed, linux should by default:

curl -X POST -H "Authorization: Bearer myaccesstoken" -d name=myappname -d
type=web -d redirect_uri=https://myredirectaddress.com -d organization=myorgname -d scope=create_customer
https://api.particle.io/v1/clients

Most of the above is self explanatory, your redirect_uri is the address that the form will direct the user to once their account has been successfully created. The API will also include the users access token as a hash after your address e.g. https://myredirectpage.com/#usersNewAccessToken