Spark with relay 3 vdc

I got a 3 vdc relay which has 5 pins. 2 pins to switch relay. 1 common. No and NC pins. I can switch relay if I connect to gnd and 3.3v but if I connect to gnd and digital pin it will not switch. I am software guy and not to good with hardware

The relay coil used to activate the switch requires more current than what the microcontroller pins can provide. (Usually 20mA)

So you will need 2 things:

1. transistor
  2. free wheeling diode

:wink:

1 Like

I thought that may be the problem. Could you give me a simple circuit diagram and if possible some part numbers for the parts. Sorry to be a pain as I mentioned I am a newbie to hardware

No worries! we are all here to learn. I’m also noob in many areas but just keep learning :smiley:

You can see the schematics for the shield shield as reference: https://github.com/spark/shields/blob/master/PDFs/Schematics/relay-shield.pdf?raw=true

In general, use find a NPN resistor which you can easily get hold of and just make sure it can handle sufficient current the relay might draw.

If you have the datasheet of the relay, we will be able to advice :wink:

2 Likes

Your help is much appreciated. Attached is the datasheet for the relay I am using. Don’t know how to attach pdf doc so I just added a link

http://www.mantech.co.za/ProductInfo.aspx?Item=72M2267

Ah nice.

I took a quick look so 2 things:

1.) We should go for the model with lower power consumption.

HRS4H-(S) 5V

The current will be around 72mA based on the 360mW power mentioned.

2.) A typical transistor like 2N2222A will be suitable to do the switching.

As for the free-wheeling diode and gate resistor, I can also check up a suitable one if needed :slight_smile: