5V Relay to Spark Core

Dear All,

I am thinking of buying the Spark Core and use it as a wireless on/off switch for my room’s lights. I found these relays on ebay
http://www.ebay.com/itm/5pcs-5V-1-Channel-Relay-Module-Shield-for-Arduino-AVR-ARM-PIC-DSP-SRD-05VDC-SL-C/121140625276?_trksid=p2050601.c100085.m2372&_trkparms=aid%3D111001%26algo%3DREC.SEED%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20140211132617%26meid%3D8165531821435841162%26pid%3D100085%26prg%3D20140211132617%26rk%3D1%26rkt%3D4%26sd%3D121140625276%26clkid%3D8165533367084631485&_qi=RTM1562569

I am a software engineer and new to all the hardware stuff. How can I wire this relay to the core?

Thank you

1 Like

Spark Core is powerfully able to do this. You can do this by following instructions -
You can use 2 channel/4 channel (depend on no. of appliances u want to control) relay board.

If you are powering spark core by USB cable then
VIN Spark => VCC Relay (because relay needs 5v power and if u want to use Spark 3.3V pin then need to external power for relay So VIN pin is fine)
GND Spark => GND Relay
D0 pin => IN1 relay
D1 pin => IN2 relay…so on

Now in Spark Build write some code to check or you can make App to control electric appliances using ur device id and access token.

Another part of relay, you can use AC/DC source. Connect one wire with NO and another with COM pin.
Now you can control electric appliances.
( Be aware in the case of AC power supply & be alert about polarity)

@mrabie:
Typically, two pins on the switching side of the relay (the one with the pins) would suffice, one for the input and the other for GND.
This relay has 3 pins. One might be power, which is 5V. It can be fed through Vin. The input can be D7, for example. You can use Tinker to control this.
This relay also has 3 sockets, like any other relay. The datasheet of the relay states which of the two is N/C (Normally Closed) and the other is N/O (Normally Open). The common should go to the AC source and either N/C or N/O should go to one light.