[Solved] How to add a timer in the tinker iOS app

I am not a programmer and I am trying to understand micro controller programming, All I want do is add a simple line of code to turn off a digital output in a spark core after a preselected time. If D7 was digitalWrite, have it stay on for 2 seconds and then turn off or change state to LOW. This is all thru the iOS app.

Thanks.

It would be possible to modify the tinker firmware to make all outputs timed. Or you could “hack” the analog or digital outputs to allow for customer timers.

For example:
D0-D7 are outputs
A0-A7 are timer values.

A analogOutput command to A0 for value 100 for example would have D0 toggle or turn off after 100 seconds.

Would that work for your situation?

That sounds promising, I only want the timer for maybe one pin, can you give me an example of what I need to add to the tinker app and where it needs to be placed.

Thanks

Do you want your time adjustable or constant?
If you want it constant it’s super easy. Adjusting the time with analogWritepins in Tinker App would be a bit fiddly on the handling side, but no problem on the code side :wink:

You say that you’re no programmer, but your willing to change the iOS Tinker app? That’s at least $99 a year (assuming you’re not jailbroken). It’s a lot easier to get rid of the Tinker app and make a webapp. Or, if you really want to keep the Tinker app, then edit the Tinker firmware on the Core, which shouldn’t be too hard.

it not hard for you guys that write code, but for someone starting out it can be very frustrating. I would like to keep the Tinker app and just add some code to it, just what to add and getting it right is the challenge.

Just want it to be constant, trying to make it open a garage door which needs a momentary switch action.

So I’ll assume that you’re willing to pay the developer fee, install XCode, and reprogram the iOS app? It’s no trivial task to “just add some code to it”.