Solar Power - How many Watt is enough for photon?

Hi all,

Need help from smarter minds than mine :blush:

I need to source a photon with a solar cell, I think 150ma it’s a good average of what the photon will need to work with wifi on…

So… How many watts my solar cell needs to produce to source it?

So… Here’s my math which I think it’s wrong… I just don’t know where or what I am not looking at…

0.15amp x 3.3 = 0.450 watt

So half a watt? So say if I get a 5 Watt solar cell with 50% light, I should be able to power the photon. Since 2.5 watt will be enough to power it?

Yeah I know… I am an engineer wanna be :blush:

anyone?

Do you only want the photon to work when it the solar panel is illuminated ?

If not, then you’ll want to use some form of battery shield (SparkFun have one, Particle have one and I believe will be selling it just as soon as they can get their ecommerce site to understand the shipping constraints on LiPo batteries…)

Well… Curious… My current setup involves a SparkFun battery shield, a WeatherShield and the Photon.

What I want is the system to have enough power to charge and be used during the day. I am charging a 2000mah lipo… When it goes dark, I will enter a battery conservation mode… Where the weather instead of being reported every 10 seconds, will be reported every 3 minutes and in between the wifi radio will be turned off to conserve energy.

Also a DEEP sleep mode will be used if the power for some reason goes bellow 30% charge. Then the deep sleep will be waken every 2 hours. After two hours of deep sleep the system will boot, report status and decide if it will keep in low power mode, deep sleep again or return to normal mode depending on the power.

What I want to determine is how big a solar panel I need to charge the battery, use the photon with WiFi and still contemplate a not so sunny day.

Now the take home value, is I want to learn how to calculate this things :blush:.

Any help welcomed!