Server Side Events in Swift?

I am new to Swift and would like to subscribe to a server side event. The SDK documentation gives example code for Swift and Obj-C, except for the section on server side events which is only in Obj-C. I have tried to rewrite in Swift but my knowledge of Swift is still very new. Could someone help with changing this code to be Swift compatible

// The event handler:
SparkEventHandler handler = ^(SparkEvent *event, NSError *error) {
        if (!error)
        {
            dispatch_async(dispatch_get_main_queue(), ^{
                NSLog(@"Got Event %@ with data: %@",event.event,event.data);
            });
        }
        else
        {
            NSLog(@"Error occured: %@",error.localizedDescription);
        }

};

// This line actually subscribes to the event stream:
id eventListenerID = [[SparkCloud sharedInstance] subscribeToAllEventsWithPrefix:@"temp" handler:handler];

I haven’t had time to actually compile and test this because the IOS SDK example won’t build for me, but this should be close:

EDIT: code deleted because it was wrong.
1 Like

Hi.

Thanks for coming back with this. It all works except the last line

SparkCloud.sharedInstance().subscribeToAllEventsWithPrefix(“temp”, handler)

where I get the following compile error

Cannot convert value of type ‘SparkEventHandler’ (aka ‘(event: SparkEvent, error: ImplicitlyUnwrappedOptional) -> ()’) to expected argument type ‘SparkEventHandler!’

Any ideas?

Got the example to compile and now I see what is wrong. Here’s the corrected, tested code:

// in Spark-SDK-Bridging-Header.h
// #import "Spark-SDK.h"

//  EventViewController.swift
import UIKit

class EventViewController: UIViewController {

func subscribeHandler(event: SparkEvent!, error: NSError!)->() {
        if (error == nil)
        {
            dispatch_async(dispatch_get_main_queue(), {
                NSLog("got event with name:\(event.event) and data:\(event.data)");
            });
        } else {