Send wake up msg to mesh network

Hi, I want to deploy multiple xenon devices to a field with soil moisture sensors. And I was wondering if the boron could handle the soil reading timing, and not the xenon endpoints. So, the idea is that the boron sends a wake up msg to all endpoints, and in return, each endpoint sends back a reading and goes back to sleep. Is this possible? I was thinking this approach because I need all readings more or less at the same time. The endpoints will be running on batteries, so I need this to be as efficient as possible to save battery life. Is this the best solution? Or should each endpoint handle its reading time and go back to sleep? In that case, how do I handle that all devices wake up at the same time? This is my first project with particle devices.

Thanks.

I haven’t seen the mesh api, so I don’t know if it’s possible to do exactly what you’re asking.

But within a single sleep period, there shouldn’t been too much drift, so you can just have each xenon sleep normally, then when it wakes up it will re-sync before deciding how long to sleep for. Either it can use the real-time clock to decide how long it needs to sleep every time it wakes up or the Boron can tell it how many seconds to sleep for each time it wakes up and provides its reading.

I don’t have the nRf specs handy, but RX tends to be expensive compared to TX due to the time it tends to be on. TX uses more mA (at high power settings) but it’s only on for the packet duration, while RX often has to be on for far longer to account for synchronization. The result is that it’s typ cheaper to wake up, do your thing, TX the result, perhaps wait for an immediate ACK, and go back to sleep. If you need tight sync you may have to wake up periodically to evaluate clock drift and maintain sync.

Although my reply is many months later, the sleep function on Mesh appears to have just been released with 0.9.0.