SCRIPTs in the SPARK world

I am new to the SPARK core and so far I have found it an interesting module to use. I have followed and implemented many of the tutorials and various threads and my SPARK is happily sending temperature information from a DS18B20 to a WEB page. I am competent to dangerous with the C. I am familiar with HTML coding via a text editor but scripting languages (python, java, perl) and the use of special procedures like JSON are my weakness. It appears that to make full use of the SPARK capabilities I need to master the WEB side of the project. Gathering the data is the easy part ( a few lines of C), displaying/using the data is much more difficult for me.

Does the collective have suggestions as to where I should start reading? Is there a “SPARK and the WEB for dummies” that would allow me to read and understand what the WEB/HTML/Script portion of the tutorials are doing (almost all code published is without imbedded comments). If you were teaching a C programmer how to write scripts to interface with the SPARK how or where would you start? I realize that this is like asking how do I build a bridge but friendly pointers and suggestions are appreciated.

-Phil-

2 Likes

Hi Phil, Glad to see others who are interested in HTML/Web access and/or control of Spark Core, HOWEVER, as you search the forum you will see my many posts that request the very things you suggest.

I suggested a Dummies for Spark Core and immediately informed that a very component technical writer is working on a Spark Core book (Not a Dummies book like I want to see).

I requested the support of a Web - HTML interface and I was told best to use the officially supported method. Java API. I was told its not safe to place your access_token in a webpage. So I figured out how to place the access_token (actual) in the core IDE firmware and use a variable in an webpage but, still no support for html control of spark core. (read this thread)