RF Antenna Question

I am assembling a design using the P0. I don’t have the option of placing the 2.4Ghz antenna along the edge of the PCB so I was wondering if anyone can provide guidance on what to do in that case. I understand there should not be any ground plane under and around the antenna, I plan on stitching the top and bottom planes together with via’s to reduce any conductance from the antenna area. I have the following questions -

1. how much room should I give the antenna
  2. what parts are safe to place adjacent to the antenna ‘keep out’ zone (passives, accelerometers, light sensors?)
  3. one some designs I have seen a ground plane adjacent to the antenna, not sure what that is for but maybe someone can explain what it’s used for ?

Thanks, I’m not an RF engineer and could use some help finishing up my design.

Yes, I have same issues. I will be really appreciate if someone can offer help!

Hi @mtnscott and @Joshua, I designed the Photon PCB which uses the PØ module. My advice would be to copy the Photon’s RF layout exactly. It is not recommended to surround the antenna in ground plane completely. Here’s another link showing a surrounding ground plane not recommended. It should be free on 2-3 sides of the chip antenna. I hope you are using a 4-layer board with the same stack up as the Photon. I don’t think it will be easy to keep 50 ohm impedance on the RF feedline with a 2-layer PCB; save yourself the headache and go with 4-layers (Top Signal/GND/Power/Bot Signal)

The ground plane on 1 to 2 sides of the antenna affects the resonant frequency of the antenna. You want to follow the recommendations of the antenna MFG for these distances, and then have your design tuned for best performance.

If you have no choice in PØ placement and cannot keep the antenna free of ground plane completely surrounding it, you may want to stick with a u.FL connector and small external foil antenna that you could stick to the inside of your enclosure.