Photon Thermocouple Project

I recently bought a photon maker kit for a school project. I am new to the photon and programming in general. I have a project for school. I would like to adapt a thermocouple to the photon, publish the data to the cloud to record for iot and read the temperature in fahrenheit on the OLED screen that comes in the kit. I have done some small projects such as leds and hooked the OLED display up with the “hello world” code. I have also used code that turned it into a clock. Both display projects were in SPI I believe. I was wondering what I would need for coding and hardware. I saw that adafruit has a MAX31855 opamp circuit. Would this work with the photon for what I need?

@jhypes, Particle provides both the web IDE and a local Particle CLI for developing your code in C++. If you are familiar with Arduino, you will have no problems programming for the Photon. The IDE provides the editor and compiler and lets you program your device wirelessly (OTA). With the CLI you use your own editor but you can program wirelessly or directly via USB. I suggest you start with the web IDE.

The MAX31855 thermocouple interface is great for K-type thermocouples. There is also a new MAX31856 board with internal linearization for any thermocouple type. Both boards use 3-wire SPI and are super simple to use. There is already a MAX31855 library available for the photon on the IDE. I have used both boards and they work very well.

As for the OLED, you will need to tell us which model you intend to use. Some are SPI, others are I2C. There are a number of OLED display libraries on the IDE.

This project will be very simple and fun to put together. This community will be more than happy to assist you. :smile:

3 Likes