Monitor the RSSI(Received Signal Strength Indicator) values on the Argon module

Hi guys,

I am new to Particle. I am currently working on a project that involve monitoring RSSI values of Particle Argon module.

I have connected an Argon to a display and an antenna. The Argon is communicating with a Xenon to display temperature values on a Display.

I will be moving the Xenon away from the Argon and will be monitoring the temperature values on the Display. During this moving around, I would like to track the RSSI values of the antenna.

I would like to know what are possible ways to track the RSSI values of an antenna in connection with the Argon. Any suggestion will be appreciated!

@LTW1994 Welcome to Particle Community.

You have not said which RSSI value you want to measure and report?

You have an Argon which can be WiFi connected and the WiFi RSSI can be read using;
WiFi.RSSI() returns the signal strength of a Wi-Fi network from -127 (weak) to -1dB (strong) as an int . Positive return values indicate an error with 1 indicating a Wi-Fi chip error and 2 indicating a time-out error.

For the Mesh there is currently no Mesh.RSSI() function in the device API that can be used for the Mesh network signal strength.

@ Armor G3CC,

Thank you for the reply. I am trying to get the RSSI value for an external antenna and internal antenna that I have for my Argon. Thank you for the help!

Also, may you please lead me in the right direction on writing the WiFi.RSSI ( ) in my code? Where should I insert this code or Wifi.RSSI( )? Also, what goes in the parenthesis?

Take a look here in the documentation - this is an invaluable resource that huge amounts of detail and examples:

https://docs.particle.io/reference/device-os/firmware/argon/#rssi-

Hi,