Magnetic pickup (variable reluctance) sensor inputs to photon

Not sure if I should have posted this here or in general, so if it’s not right let me know I’ll repost.

I’ve been playing with my new to me photon getting used to how it works. What I’d like to do eventually is read a speed sensor off a car driveshaft which will be a toothed tone ring on the rear axle yoke and a magnetic pickup sensor. Then depending on the vehicles speed in about 3 ranges (0 to 10mph, 10 to 35 mph, 35 plus) the photon will output a different CAN-bus message using a Carloop CAN-hitch. Electronics isn’t really my strong suit. I have a decent understanding of the basics like resistors, diodes, capacitors, transistors, etc. from automotive tech classes twenty years ago (I’m an auto technician) but I don’t really know what to search for in terms of hooking the sensor to the photon’s digital input and conditioning it so it can be read properly.

If someone could point me in a direction to search or give me some search terms that would be extremely helpful. Ultimately, this will be going on an older 60’s Ford car that has a Toyota Prius electric steering assist motor installed. Currently the Toyota assist motor gives a minimal assist level (out of three assist maps) because it isn’t receiving an engine running or wheel speed signal on the CAN-bus so it therefore goes into failsafe mode. I know I can program this photon to just output a steady speed without the input and I could could set it to the medium or maximum assist map based off speed. However If it would read in the cars speed that would make it operate like the Toyota does, max motor assist at low speed for parking, minimal assist at higher speeds for road feedback and feel.

1 Like

Why not make it even easier, and read the speed from the ODB port?

@seulater, on a 60’s Ford?

@TimC, have you got some data/datasheet about your sensor?