LCD Liquid Crystal 20x4 backlit display with Photon

I am very new to the Photon coming over from Arduino. I am making a RFID scan in system for a project to replace a current system. The RFID integration was super easy and I love the simplicity, the integration of the LCD is not going so well.

I have this LCD display:

Using the LiquidCrystal library and the example project following their pin layout (no i2c chip) and I am not able to get it up and running. They ONLY change I have made is to set the screen size to a 20x4 vs. a 16x2. Even leaving the 16x2 doesn’t work. Screen is lighting up and 10k pot is working just fine… but only first and 3rd line are showing character placement (just boxes).

I’ve been scouring the internet trying to find an example to get this working with no luck. Any thoughts?

Matt

Just to be sure, you got the LCD display working with an Arduino before?

Hi @suprduprmn

These parallel interface LCD displays all use the same controller chip, so it really should work, but there are some things you can check:

• This looks to be +5V device, you will want to hook pin 2 of the LCD to VIN and pin 1 to GND.
  • If you have some other +5V supply for the LCD, make sure the GNDs of the LCD and Photon are tied together.
  • If you are using all 8 data inputs to the LCD then those should all be hooked up.
  • If you are using only 4 data inputs, you need to make you are using the higher-order 4 pins on the LCD.
  • These displays are slow and Photon is must faster than a typical Arduino. You can try adding a few delay(20); calls between the LCD calls.
  • You might to post a picture of your wiring to see if we can spot something.
2 Likes

@bko,

Thank you for the reply. I am going to try a Shield Shield for my project to bump the LCD up to the 5v that I need. Seems like a good option.