It seems like if the code flashes, but it doesn't

Hi everyone,

I have 4 photons,2 of them work fine and I can flash OTA new codes (iieeeiii), but the other 2 (those I’ve being using more) used to received any code and then…they only received the Tinker code and I couldn’t get them to take any new code (so far). They are all in the new version 0.4.7…yes I checked if the right device was selected on the Web IDE (just in case you were wondering).

I put them in safe mode and upload the code, it seems to uploaded (blinking magenta), but nothing.
By the way, I’ve being using the page of @Moors7 that i’ve found very usefull: http://jordymoors.nl/interface/

Then I tried to see the device with putty, but now I can’t see the port.

So I try to do it using DFU. I am not an expert using DFU, but the computer detects all the photons when they are in the DFU mode. When I run the command windows and give dfu-util -l it doesn’t detect any of the 4 photons so I know I am doing something wrong here too. See next image;

I am using Windows 7 x64 and the only thing I see is that the antenna of the failing photon says “1” and the working photon says “2”, do you know what this is for?

I tried in so different ways to install the CLI and It was impossible for me to do it. If you can help to resolve this the easy way (if exist) I appreciate it, if you can help me with guidance to install the CLI also good (maybe even better as I walked trough several discussions and it seems like the best way to fix something).

Thank you very much in advance.

One of the easiest ways to install CLI in Windows can be found here
Toolchain for Windows Installer

Ups, just seen you’ve been there already.
But the installer has worked for me on Win 7/8.1/10 Pro 64bit too.
Maybe you need to clean up your PATH not to have Windows choose the wrong instance of an installed prg.

1 Like

Glad to hear you find the page to be useful, that’s why I made it :smile: