IOS APP String Command for Function with API

I have made an android app that has the following function and I am using it to call a function and then put in a string command so when the function equals a string my code will run.

Now I am trying to make an iOS app and having trouble finding a similar function that will do this for iOS. I found a function for iOS bellow but it is not working and I dont think it does the same as the Android function.

Any help would be really helpful. I am not a programmer I am a NOOB to all this especially with iOS.

Android CODE

public void callFunction(String coreName, String function, Bundle args, String responseType) {
	BaseFunctionValueReceiver Receiver = new BaseFunctionValueReceiver(handler, 
			FunctionResponse.REQUEST_TYPE_VARIABLE, coreName, responseType); 

SimpleSparkApiService.post(ctx, new String[] { "devices", coreName, function },
			args, Receiver, null);
}

Bundle args = new Bundle();
			args.putString("params", "colder");
			api.callFunction(device.id, "setTemp", args,"setTemperature");
			//api.getVariableString(device.id, "lampStatus", "showTemperature");

iOS Code

- (void) makeSparkRequest {

NSString *sparkApi = @"https://api.spark.io/v1/devices";
    NSString *deviceId = @"<YOUR_DEVICE_ID>";
    NSString *functionName = @"<YOUR_FUNCTION_NAME>"; // registered to cloud using Spark.function("FUNCTION_NAME", FUNCTION);
    NSString *accessToken = @"<YOUR_ACCESS_TOKEN>";

NSURL *url = [NSURL URLWithString: [NSString stringWithFormat:@"%@/%@/%@\?access_token=%@", 
        sparkApi, 
        deviceId, 
        functionName, 
        accessToken]
    ];

NSLog(@"%@", url);
    NSMutableURLRequest *request = [NSMutableURLRequest requestWithURL:url];

[request setURL:url];
    [request setHTTPMethod:@"POST"];
    [request setValue:@"application/json" forHTTPHeaderField:@"Content-Type"];

NSError *error;
    NSURLResponse *response;