Interrupts rarely firing [SOLVED]

Hi,

I’m using a Photon with the SparkFun Weather Shield. Currently I’m trying to read the anemometer using interrupts by incrementing a counter every time the interrupt occurs. However, it seems like the interrupt occurs very rarely, if ever (but it does happen some times, so something must work).

Of course, I’m a complete newbie with regards to C, interrupts, edges etc :wink:

Here’s my code:

long lastWrite;
unsigned long millisBetweenWrites = 10000;
int volatile rotations;

int ANEMOMETER_PIN = D3;

void rotation() {
  rotations += 1;
  Serial.println("Rotation!");
}

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  attachInterrupt(ANEMOMETER_PIN, rotation, FALLING);
  lastWrite = millis();
  rotations = 0;
}

void loop() {
  long currentTime = millis();
  if ((currentTime - lastWrite) > millisBetweenWrites) {
    int result = (int) rotations;
    Serial.print("Save ");
    Serial.println(result);
    if (Spark.variable("rotations", &result, INT)==false) {
      Serial.println("Could not save :-(");
    }
    rotations = 0;
    lastWrite = currentTime;
  }
}

When I attach my serial console and give the anemometer a little spin (tens of rotations) I get perhaps one or two indications that the rotation() function is called.

I’ve tried all three kinds of interrupt modes (yes, I’m that blank).

Any ideas?

Where is this device from and how did you hook up to the Sparkfun weather shield?

First of - how have you got the anemometer wired to your Photon?

I must admit that I’ve lost track with the background behaviour of attachInterrupt() over the last firmware releases, but a save bet should be to set your interrupt pin as pinMode(ANEMOMETER_PIN, INPUT_PULLUP) to detect falling edges.

I’d also not Serial.print() inside an ISR.

This part has to be changed too

void loop()
{
    if (Spark.variable("rotations", &result, INT)==false) {
      Serial.println("Could not save :-(");
    }
}

This is not how Spark.variables() work.