IDE Options - CodeBlocks, Workbench for STM32?

I’m new to embedded programming and programming compiled languages in general. I’ve gotten my Electron setup and tried a few simple programs using the Web IDE. However, while I find the Electron very cool, I’m sure that I will want to try out different boards in the future, and I like the idea of getting exposure to tools that will be more versatile than Particle’s ready made development tools for their products. With that in mind, how difficult would it be to use Workbench for STM32, or for that matter CodeBlocks to program my Electron, and what are the basic steps I would need to implement to use those IDE’s. I’m planning to rely mainly on C++.

Thanks!

How about VSCode which will be Particles Desktop IDE

2 Likes

Thank you, I will look further into VSCode. If anyone has comments on what it would take to make CodeBlocks or Workbench for STM32 viable to program my Electron with C++ I’d be very interested to know.

Cheers

I haven’t had the chance to try Particle’s new desktop IDE yet although it looks very promising, but I can say that I currently use Atollic TrueStudio and it’s been very good.

Hi Paul,

Thanks for the suggestion. TrueStudio looks like an interesting option. Here’s a newbie question - how do I go about getting the libraries onto my machine so that they’ll compile in TrueStudio. For example the very basic code that I put together using the WebIDE included Particle.h and used Particle.keepAlive and Particle.function. I’m using Ubuntu. Cheers!

I’m not positive that I’m following your question but I’ll answer what I think you’re asking me.

If you’re asking about integration of your code to the Particle OS/SDK, then I just followed the guide that rickkas7 did for local compilation using Eclipse. Since TrueStudio is an Eclipse skin then this basically worked as written for me.