I get a "usage fault" SOS code for commenting out a serial print?

I’m new to a lot of this stuff, so my project actually started with someone else’s example code. That example code included some serial.print lines that I don’t actually need because I’m not connected via USB and I’m never looking at the serial output. So I thought I could just comment them out. But doing so makes my photon boot into a flashing red SOS code followed by 5 red flashes to indicate “usage fault”. Even though it compiled just fine. Just for not using the serial print?

Here’s the earliest version of my code that is doing this to me:

#include "Ubidots/Ubidots.h"
    #include "Adafruit_BME280/Adafruit_Sensor.h"
    #include "Adafruit_BME280/Adafruit_BME280.h"

#define BME_SCK D4
    #define BME_MISO D3
    #define BME_MOSI D2
    #define BME_CS D5
    #define SEALEVELPRESSURE_HPA (1013.25)

#define TOKEN "ix9hooYdMoBXnxoCNP65gUTNKjBG1S"  // Put here your Ubidots TOKEN

Ubidots ubidots(TOKEN);

Adafruit_BME280 bme; // I2C
    //Adafruit_BME280 bme(BME_CS); // hardware SPI
    //Adafruit_BME280 bme(BME_CS, BME_MOSI, BME_MISO,  BME_SCK);

void setup() {
      Serial.begin(9600);
      Serial.println(F("BME280 test"));

if (!bme.begin()) {
        Serial.println("Could not find a valid BME280 sensor, check wiring!");
        while (1);
      }
    }

void loop() {
            delay(20000);
              RGB.control(true);
    float temp1;
    temp1 = (bme.readPressure() / 100.0F);
    float temp2;
    temp2 = (bme.readTemperature() - 1);
        Serial.println();

ubidots.add("Temperature", temp2);
        ubidots.add("Humidity", bme.readHumidity());
        ubidots.add("Pressure", temp1);
        ubidots.sendAll();

}