How to set up an IR Distance sensor?

Although I’ve tinkered around a little bit so far with other sensors, I’m really new to anything else and so I’m not 100% sure how to set up my IR Distance sensor (part of the Electron Sensor kit).

The model is Sharp GP2Y0A710, and I’m using a Particle Electron with breadboard. The sensor has two GND wires, two VCC wires and an output wire. I assume the output goes to A0, and the GND wires go to the GNDs on both sides?

I tried to look for any libraries or documentation but I couldn’t find a clear-cut answer for this specific sensor.

My current setup:

EDIT: Above setup works once LiPo battery is added and the red VCC wires are linked to VIN instead

The wiring sounds right.

Black --> GND
Red --> Vin
White --> A0

Take note that you need to have the Lipo battery attached when using the electron as well.

I see a library available --> https://github.com/guillaume-rico/SharpIR

Happy to help make it available in the Web IDE if required :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Oh I see! I didn’t know this was a requirement. I assumed my setup was semi-working already as on some rare occurances I did get one or two (inaccurate) readings, but 98% of the time the sensor couldn’t take any readings. So I guess getting a LiPo on there, and moving the VCC wires from 3V3 to VIN should do the trick.

Thanks for the linked library, that should be very useful!

I tested the library code for an hour or two but there’s no way I can manage to get any accurate readings from the sensor. It has a tendency to severely underestimate distances (e.g. a wall 3 metres away shows up as 60cm away)or no readings at all (even with a perpendicular, non-black object between 1 to 5 metres away).

@Vitesze, questions:

1. Is your USB supply good quality capable of 1A, ideally 2A?
  2. Did you specify “100500” as the model number? (100500 is for GP2Y0A710K0F)

Sorry, here's the code (the default code):
Particle Web IDE