How to Send New Firmware Binary to Photon & Electron via Y-Modem - TeraTerm!

I have some custom products I have created for a client who would like the ability to modify the firmware in the future if desired.

It looks like loading new firmware to the Photon via Y-Modem is an option if I give them access to the Photon via a USB port.

The USB port access would also allow programming via DFU mode.

Where can I find more info about updating a Photons firmware via Y-Modem?

Is using the Y-Modem update feature commonly used by professionals as a product firmware update method?

I’ve never used it before but I assume it there to allow easy updating?

@rickkas7 @ScruffR @peekay123 I’m sure you know a little about this feature. Just curious how Y-Modem compares to DFU updating as far as simplicity goes.

Any advice here is appreciated :slight_smile:

1 Like

What kinds of modifications does the client wish to make on their own? Simple ones like changing configuration setting variables, or more complex modifications that greatly change the product’s behavior?

Are you using these Photons in the Particle product console? If so, you’d have to mark the devices as development devices.

DFU is much more reliable than Y-Modem, as Y-Modem has to be used while the Photon is in listening mode and can be interrupted if the application makes use of serial in listening mode. DFU much less likely to be interrupted because the firmware does not run while the Photon is in DFU mode.

As far as simplicity goes, the Y-Modem flasher is included in Particle CLI, and dfu-util is it’s own separate binary.

How will the client be building the firmware? Web IDE, Workbench, Particle CLI, Locally with gcc-arm?

It might be easiest include the dfu-util binary with the firmware and provide a helper script that puts the Photon in DFU mode by setting the serial baud rate to 14400 and then flashes the firmware with dfu-util.