How to read data from micro USB port using Serial.read()

I have a Photon with external power and am trying to read data from a serial to USB cable + OTG adapter (Serial1 is not available as it is being used for another purpose).

I have experience reading data with an RS232 TLL using Serial1.readStringUntil(), but I’m struggling to get any kind of reading. Is this not possible, or am I doing something wrong? My code below, I am still new to C so I admit I don’t really know what I’m doing when it comes to char.

Thank you!

String string;
String usbstring;
String usbstring2;

void setup(){
    Serial.begin(9600); // micro usb port
    Serial1.begin(9600, SERIAL_7E1); // TTL
}

void loop(){

if (Serial.available() > 0) {                 
        char inchar = (char)Serial.read();         
        usbstring += inchar;
        Particle.publish("char",String(inchar));
        if (inchar == '\n') {                     
            Particle.publish("fullstring", usbstring);   
        }

usbstring2 = Serial.readStringUntil('\r');
    Particle.publish("string2",usbstring2);        

}   
}

What device are you trying to communicate with?
The Photon is not capable to act as a USB Serial host.

However, the Photon also features a secondary UART port Serial2 and you can also have a software serial port via ParticleSoftSerial.

1 Like

Thanks @ScruffR. I am trying to send data from an Android app into a Photon in a way that a) does not use Serial1 b) does not consume data operations and c) is near real-time (so preferably a hard-wired connection vs. WiFi-based).

Argon would be cleaner and enable me to interface using BLE, but it can’t do 7E1 which is required for my use case.

ParticleSoftSerial look promising, I’ll give it a try tomorrow. Thank you!

In what way would you need 7E1 with BLE? With BLE (and USB Serial for that matter) there is no such distinction as the "raw data" will always be packaged in a report block without start-, stop- or parity bit.