Forums, a precious resource, handle with care

I’m amazed by the quality of information available on this forum (and others), and at the phenomena of tech forums in general. It is a new model of technical support; one that significantly cuts costs for manufacturers, and improves the breadth and depth of of information available to users. But what brings this phenomena about? What human drives nurture it? And, what are the threats to a forum’s health and how can it be nurtured?

Those questions have been churning around in my head, and so accept this as an attempt to answer them, and to participate in some strategic way in the continuation and growth of the Particle forum.

Some background, and many of the other gray hairs here will relate. I’ve been working with uP and code since 1977, beginning with an Intel 4004 and moving up through 8080, 8085, 8086 and 8088 and on and on. In 1977 there was no such thing as tech support (unless you were a huge company on Intel’s radar) and there were no forums, but there was a very well written data book. You had to read it, from the beginning, then go back and read it some more.

In 1979 I started a company making educational CPU boards based on the Intel uPs. I did provide tech support by phone, and learned that my best first line of defense was a clear and well written user manual. The products were sold as kits, needing assembly, and coding was done by manually converting mnemonics into bytes and typing them into the uP with a serial monitor.

Next there was MetrByte. We made dataAcq hardware and software for the PC.

Next and last was Measurement Computing, also with dataAcq for personal computers but the software and hardware were getting ever more sophisticated.