Examples of basic recipes

I am new to IFTTT and publish/subscribe.

Lets say i wanted to activate a pin on the Photon when I received an email to a particular address. What would be the best way? Call a function or an event?

Has anybody seen a simple recipe and corresponding code for the Photon. This could then be used by newbies like me to build upon once we can get things ‘talking together nicely’.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Hey there,

For what you described, you could use both functions or SSEs. The main benefit of SSEs in this case would be that you could target multiple devices at once, rather than having to call each one separately. If your main goal is to trigger just one device, I’d go for the function call.

There aren’t really recipes on IFTTT as far as I’ve seen, but it’s easy enough to make your own :smile:
Here is some example core for your device that will set D7 (the tiny LED) HIGH for 5 seconds:

#define ledPin D7
bool toggle = false;

void setup() {
    pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
    Spark.function("ledPin", ledToggle);
}

void loop() {
    if (toggle == true){
        digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);
        delay(5000);
        digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
        toggle = false;
    }
}

int ledToggle(String command){
    toggle = true;
}

On IFTTT create a new recipe. The “If [this]” is up to you. For the “then [that]”, select Particle, and “call a function”. Then, from the list of devices, select the one to which you flashed the code above.

That should be it. Once your IF trigger gets triggered, you should be able to see your LED light up :smile:

Sorry for the late response, this one must have slipped through somehow. I’ll delete the post in the other category to keep things in one place.

Ah, that all seems logical to me.

Thank you so much for taking the time out to help me. This will be a great foundation for me to tinker with.

Many thanks.

1 Like

Hi @Moors7,