Ethernet connection lost on Argon flash

Hello internet friends :nerd_face:
Quick summery.
Particle argon + Adafruit Feathering (cut 1 trace on the PCB and wired all 3 pins as per documentation). Setup argon using ios app, selected ethernat and it connected, I claimed it and i started programming no issue at all. Prototyped for 2 weeks, no problem, 100% functional and overwhelmingly happy with the paricle web IDE + flashing process(used to serial programming Arduino pro minis :crazy_face:). Finished the prototype and installed it in a metal bin miles away from any other device via a long range line of sight network extender (Ethernet only due to the solid metal bin it is in.). while trying to change a couple last minute settings after install i added a significant delay after a particle.publish to troubleshoot a weird sensor error and this killed my ability to flash core remotely. I drove down the road and climbed into the bin to put the particle in safe mode so that i could send fresh code. But it seems to have defaulted into wifi and went to flashing blue instead of staying on breathing magenta. I opened up my app on ios and told it to go back to ethernet, and it worked. but now everytime i flash code it defaults to wifi and disconnects from the cloud. in my remote install application, this means 2 miles of driving each way to flash fresh code. AAAAAAAARRRRGGGG!!!

I have read in the argon docs a way to enable ethernet detection from code “STARTUP(System.enableFeature(FEATURE_ETHERNET_DETECTION));” but it does not state in the documentation where this needs to be placed in the code.

I am by no means an expert coder and perhaps i am missing something obvious, but i have now spent real money on gas driving back and forth :crazy_face: and I need some help.

Thanks in advance :smiley:

Cheers
Lucas

Welcome to the community!

Not explicitly for FEATURE_ETHERNET_DETECTION but for STARTUP()
https://docs.particle.io/reference/device-os/firmware/argon/#startup-