Electron - digitalread turns off PIN?

I have been using an Electron for several years as a very basic control to turn on heat at our remote cottage. It is connected to a Particle relay board and I have been using one of the relays to turn on a heater at the cottage.

As we don't have Internet service at the cottage I have been using the Electron with SIM card and to keep costs down I was using the Tinker app to simply turn on pin 3, which enabled relay 1 and turned on my heat (I did this before leaving my house). Subsequently, when leaving I would use Tinker to turn off Pin 3, which would turn off the relay (and heat).

This fall I noticed that Tinker is no longer available as an app so I was trying to use the Web console and the digitalwrite and digitalread commands to set pin 3 high or low. The console allows me to key a value but it seems to have no effect on the Electron, even though it shows online in the console.

So far, the only way I have been able to enable pin3 is using the CLI. If I issue a digitalwrite D3,HIGH the relay will turn on. The problem I am having is if I try to check the status remotely and use the CLI with digitalread D3, it turns the relay off. In the past this would simply list a status of 1 or 0. With the way it works now when I am remote from the device, I have no idea if the relay is on or not.

Any idea why a digitalread would turn the relay off? Any idea why using the Web Console digitalread and digitalwrite commands seem to have no effect?

I apologize if this seems a simple question, it has honestly been several years since I set this up and looked at this. Any help would be appreciated.

Hey @ruggles531. The Tinker application does indeed change the pin mode when reading or writing to a digital pin. So it changes to INPUT mode every time you do a digitalread command and to OUTPUT mode when a digitalwrite command is used. Since the digitalread command sets the pin as an INPUT, it no longer drives the relay, turning it OFF.