DS18b20 Working Example?

Hi,
is there somewhere an actual working example to read multiple Dallas DS18b20 temperature sensors and maybe print them to the serial port?

I’ve read several threads so far and tried 4 different ports example codes but none of them where working on my Spark Core. There were always include errors and others. I fixed some of them but I just couldn’t figure out others. Heck, even the Spark Web IDE provided “Spark-Dallas-Temperature” library throws errors at me?!

Coming from the Arduino, what frustrates me most with the Spark Core is the lack of simple, working examples. (I’m still a beginner) Yes there’s quite a bit of community by now but it’s so cumbersome to find all the bits and pieces in forum threads. I think it would be really helpful to have some kind of database with small tutorials. The project page goes in the right direction but there are several that not even have any details but the general description.

Anyway, some help with original question would be greatly appreciated.

2 Likes

I had a lot of trouble getting the DS18b20 working as well but it can be done! What errors are you getting?

Here’s a stripped down version of my code: https://gist.github.com/harrisonhjones/3a8f81e99a40c4a28167

Note, you do need to add the OneWire library to your project.

Let me know if you have additional questions/problems

I also get errors when I copy & paste your code in the Web IDE and verify it. It seems to be a combination of WiFi drivers (CC3000) and some other stuff. Maybe there’s something else wrong? (The Spak Core is not even connected at this time)

ERROR:
In file included from ../../core-common-lib/CC3000_Host_Driver/cc3000_common.h:38:0,
from ../../core-common-lib/SPARK_Firmware_Driver/inc/hw_config.h:35,
from ../inc/main.h:37,
from ../inc/spark_utilities.h:30,
from ../inc/spark_wiring.h:33,
from OneWire/OneWire.h:8,
from OneWire/OneWire.cpp:131: