Disable battery charging when full, enable when low?

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Particle electron, Kindly advice me to charge the LiPo battery using an external battery connected to Vin and ground. In order to keep the particle device on for two months, i would like to use external power source. I also use the PIR sensor and sleep mode which wakeup only when motion detected. Is there any method to disable the charging when battery is full and also I would like to charge the battery when battery voltage is low.

You can connect a larger LiPo battery to the Li+ pin and GND pin on the Electron to add a larger and longer lasting battery.

Then charging will automatically be handled by the PMIC chip which will start and stop charging automatically to keep the battery fully charged when there is power available to the VIN or USB inputs.

Thank you for your response @RWB. I can only connect a LiPo battery of 4.2 volt in the JST connector. Since the recommended voltage through the JST connector was 4.2 volt.

Yes, you can use any 3.7v LiPo battery, preferably with a battery protection PCB chip added to the battery.

So you could get a 10Ah 3.7v LiPo battery and connect it to the Li+ and GND pins instead of the JST connector. or you could put a JST connector on the larger battery also and keep using the battery port the same as with the included battery.

Ok, Thank you for your support @RWB

Hello @RWB,

Hope you are doing good,

I tried to recharge the LiPO battery from an external battery to keep the particle for atleast 2 months. when the LiPo’s voltage is 3.3 V, it will enable the charging and when it reaches 4.112V, it will disable charging, but no luck.
Kindly advice me
FuelGauge fuel;
value = fuel.getVCell();
percentage =fuel.getSoC();
PMIC power;
power.begin();
power.setInputVoltageLimit(4840); //Set the lowest input voltage to 4.84 volts.
power.setInputCurrentLimit(900); // default is 900mA
power.setChargeCurrent(0,0,0,0,0,0);