Device ID stored in core?

Hey guys,

How could I get the device ID of a core without having to connect to the Internet? I mean, is there any function in the firmware which automatically prints the Core ID? How could I do it?

Thanks!

Here’s the relevant code snippet from the wifi credentials reader that outputs the core id:

https://github.com/spark/core-firmware/blob/master/src/wifi_credentials_reader.cpp#L78-L93

Thanks!
David

Thanks Dave!!

I’m a beginner, and I don’t really know how to implement this code, sorry :frowning:
Can I directly use this code in the void() part to get the device id? Or it work in a diferent way?

If you put your Core in Listening Mode, you can connect to it via Serial over USB. Then type the letter i and your Core ID comes up.

Listening mode: Power the Core, press and hold the Mode button until the RGB led slowly flashes blue.

You may need to install some drivers first:

Any more questions just ask! :wink:

1 Like

Thanks BDub, I’ve read your post on how to intall USB Driver on Windows & Serial Debugging and I found it very useful, but that is not exactly what I’m searching for.

I’m searching a way to get the device ID of a Core without having to connect it to any external device. I don’t know if I am explaining myself :blush:

Hi @lia - the Core does broadcast its ID through a multicast UDP datagram when it comes online, so it is possible to write an app on your computer/smartphone that will listen for the broadcast and pull down the ID. However, I don’t know the syntax; @zachary, do you have this written down somewhere?

I think we posted about that here:

Here you go:

String getCoreID()
{
  String coreIdentifier = "";
  char id[12];
  memcpy(id, (char *)ID1, 12);
  char hex_digit;
  for (int i = 0; i < 12; ++i)
  {
    hex_digit = 48 + (id[i] >> 4);
    if (57 < hex_digit)
     hex_digit += 39;
     coreIdentifier = coreIdentifier + hex_digit;
    hex_digit = 48 + (id[i] & 0xf);
   if (57 < hex_digit)
     hex_digit += 39;