Create firmware for Particle Electron to do geolocation

Dear all

I am a biologist based in the UK and new with Particle with very basic Arduino/C/programming skills.

We are studying bird navigation and need a technology to get positions of migratory birds remotely. We are also happy with very approximate (+/-10s of km) and infrequent positions. We do not have lots of funds. For our current project we need 10s of trackers and we can afford 10s of Particles Electron but we can’t buy satellite trackers (cost >$3k + $100s/device for satellite service, off-the-shelf cellular trackers costs 1000 eur/piece etc).

The idea is to use cellular trackers that send cellular network information to a server (I will be able to map this raw data on map even manually). I tried several off-the-shelf proprietary products and they have occurred to be unreliable, not flexible enough (can’t change settings) or both. So it all came down to Particle now.

I found this Particle project

but it’s overkill for me. The code is doing too much and I am too slow and unqualified to developing my code from scratch.

What I basically want is a firmware doing the follwoing

• most of the time Particle is sleeping saving battery
  • once per 3 days it wakes up for 2-3 minutes, send AT+UCELLINFO command to find cellular network information, parses out the following

< mcc > : mobile country code
< mnc > : mobile network code
< bsic > : base station identification code
< lac > : location area code

Basically it goes through Cellular.command() and other functions but I am struggling to make a working firmware

These pieces of information are the pushed to Particle Cloud (and then via webhook to my server to be saved in any log file).

Note: I am working only with 2G Particle Electron in Europe (UK and continent)

Any help and suggestions will be very appreciated!

Dmitry

1 Like