Connecting the core to a 16V doorbell

Hello

I’m an experienced Java/Android developer. And just recently picked up on Hardware and the Internet Of Things using Spark.

I made Spark prototype and an Android application to connect my doorbell to the Spark core, and every time someone rings the bell, I get a notification on my Android device.

Now I’m at the point where I would like to install this on my current doorbell. However my current doorbell uses a 16V signal. And I’m not sure how to connect this to my Spark. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I read some things about adding resistors to my circuit to reduce voltage. Would that be the way to go?

Basically I have a pushbutton, which is connected to the D3 pin. The LOW/HIGH value of this pin is then requested every other second using my phone

You have a couple of options:

• you can use a small relay, so that the 16v goes across the relay coil to open/close 3.3v to the spark pin.
  • use a voltage divider. This allows you “siphon off” a given ratio of the voltage by using a pair of resistors. For example, using a calculator I find that to get 3.3v from 16v, the resistors 47k and 12k would be needed.

Incidentally, rather than having your phone request the doorbell value every few seconds or so, you could use an event instead via Spark.publish(). You can then have your phone connect to the cloud via a http request like

GET /v1/devices/{DEVICE_ID}/events[/:event_name]

And it receives notification whenever your core publishes the event.

3 Likes

I’ve found that using an optocoupler is cheaper than a relay and safer than a voltage divider. They work like a tiny relay that physically separates the 16V power from your Core. If you use the wrong resistor for it or your doorbell power supply goes bad and starts putting out >16V, it will burn up a $0.25 optocoupler instead of your $40 Core.

4 Likes